Jacquelynne Steves

Block of the Month (BOM) Preview

I just put the finishing touches on the emagazine, which goes out tomorrow! One thing I forgot to mention in my preview last week is that this issue will have THREE quilt patterns! Make sure you get your copy! Just fill in the box on the right, and the issue will land right in your inbox tomorrow….3FreeQuiltPatterns-JacquelynneSteves

 

I am thinking about starting a BOM (block of the month) club in the fall… I have worked on a few sample blocks. They still need some tweaking, but I think they’re going to be pretty cute!

BOMPreview_JacquelynneSteves

This would be a FREE club- and I’d like your input! I’m thinking of making this a fairly short program- 4-6 months. I don’t know about you, but for me, 12 or 13 months is too big of a commitment, ha ha. Could please give me your ideas in the comments? Some things I’d like to know:

  • *When you do BOM or sew-alongs, do you prefer to follow blog posts? Get a reminder via email once a month? Follow along on social media such as Facebook or Instagram? Join a special Facebook group? Other?
  • *What kind of blocks do you prefer- piecing only, applique (machine or hand?), hand embroidery? A little bit of each?
  • *How likely would you be to join a BOM or sew-along? How about your friends? You can be honest here- if you are just too busy- please let me know! Or if you prefer a different format, let me know!
  • *What do you look for in a monthly club? What do you like, and what do you dislike? How many months/blocks do you think is a good duration?

ANY and ALL of your feedback would be appreciated here! It will take quite a bit of time to design and organize a club like this, and I’d like to know that it’s something that people will be interested in and participate in. As always, thanks for your help!!

Have A Creative Day-Pin Cushion Art_JacquelynneSteves

 

37 Comments

  • Posted July 21, 2014 at 11:35 am | Permalink

    Love BOM s!! I will so join up if you do one!! I have done all kinds and will email you my thoughts along with my phone number incase you want to talk.

  • Karen
    Posted July 21, 2014 at 11:43 am | Permalink

    I’d love to join, it would be my first time other than at a group I go to at our local quilt shop…I am fairly new at quilting so I love tutorials to go along with helpful hints to make things easier…

  • Tammy Lyons
    Posted July 21, 2014 at 12:37 pm | Permalink

    I love the hand embroidery and hand applique BOM’s. Short ones are better than long commitments for sure. And I like to have the posts on the blogs to follow along with and what is better if the BOM blocks have a PDF to download and print out so I can take it with me on the go. I know this will be a great big hit for your blog. Looking forward to hearing and seeing more.

  • jacqueline
    Posted July 22, 2014 at 7:41 am | Permalink

    I like piecing, embroidery and applique work so would be happy to follow along with any or all. I would prefer a shorter month program or even a block a week for just a couple of months program. The tut’s on the blog work for me.
    I am not a Facebook or Instagram person.

    I am fairly new to your blog and am really taken with it.

  • Sharon Hughson
    Posted July 22, 2014 at 9:32 am | Permalink

    I like BOMs. I also do Bonnie Hunter’s mystery that starts in Nov. and runs to the new year. It helps fill the void of non-activity with family both near and far. BOM’s are good for me b/c weekly is too much with my schedule. I’d sign up.

  • Posted July 22, 2014 at 10:55 am | Permalink

    I really love BOM’s but time has become a factor for me. I have pretty much quit doing BOM’s that just do sampler type blocks lately – I already have too many of those in baggies waiting to be made into a quilt top! I did sign up to do Bertie’s Year this year because I loved the unique subject of these blocks, and I tend to enjoy seasonal quilts to change out each month on my walls. Cutting the program to 4-6 months would be great because I find that I get behind at about that time :) With your creativity, I can’t wait to see what your ideas are for a new BOM!

  • Clara Chandler
    Posted July 22, 2014 at 12:56 pm | Permalink

    *I like to follow blog posts and get reminders via email. I did join a Facebook group once but I haven’t learned Instagram yet.
    * I’d like a little bit of each technique. I love your patterns with embroidery and piecing.
    *How likely would you be to join a BOM or sew-along? Very likely…the projects are doable once a month.
    *If the club project ended in 6 months, that would be very doable and keep my interest. In a monthly club, I’ve participated in Mystery BOM and projects that the final design was known. Both are fun. If the final project were known, it would be good to have a kit available with fabric you chose to complete it. Thanks, Jacqueline.

  • Posted July 22, 2014 at 3:05 pm | Permalink

    I love BOM’s because they keep me motivated. The blocks you’ve shown above are wonderful! I do mostly piecing, but a little embroidery would be ok. I get bogged down with applique. Four to six months sounds very do-able. I like following blogs and getting emails, but not such a fan of all the other ‘time consumers’ out there. ;-) Thanks for the fantastic newsletter!!!

  • Jacquelynne
    Posted July 24, 2014 at 10:46 am | Permalink

    Thanks everyone for your input! You’ve given me a good start!
    Jacquelynne

  • Mary Lou
    Posted July 27, 2014 at 8:31 pm | Permalink

    I enjoy BOM and would prefer 2/mo to complete quicker. My preference is piecing but need to improve/learn machine appliqué and paper piecing. Email reminders are good although I enjoy blogs also. Thank you for your willingness to set such a project up for us.

  • Karen Stephens
    Posted July 31, 2014 at 12:58 pm | Permalink

    I love BOM’s! And FREE is even better.
    I like getting emails for BOM’s.
    Monthly notice is great via email for me.
    Nice to have fabric to purchase if available.
    Not a blogger, not enough time.
    Email is my thing.
    Number of blocks, type of block, doesn’t matter to me
    I would certainly join.

  • Posted July 31, 2014 at 1:05 pm | Permalink

    I agree with Karen, ATo keep thing doable for the those of us that are fairly new to quilting. I prefer the blog to follow for the quilt information. Thank you for being willing to go to this amount of work.

  • Posted July 31, 2014 at 1:05 pm | Permalink

    I am not a fan of applique mostly because the ones that I have tried tended to look messy when finished. My technique is pretty bad, so maybe that is what I need to practice. A 6 month one would be a good length.

  • Posted July 31, 2014 at 1:21 pm | Permalink

    I love BOMs…however, I like them a whole lot better if I know what I am going to end up with when I start. Like the others, I tend to do better if it doesn’t last a whole year, and I actually like the postings to be once every week or every other week (can you still call that a BOM?)that way I get my blocks done right away and I don’t have to wait so long for the next instructions. I love to be able to see everyone’s progress, so a link up is always fun or posting to FB is easy and fun too (that is if people are on FB). I’m not a big user of Flickr…but I’m sure could become one. This sounds like a ton of fun and I can’t wait to get started!!! :) Blog postings or emails are great, actually emails are better because I sometimes miss blog postings if I’m super busy. Hope this wasn’t too much info!

  • Greta
    Posted July 31, 2014 at 1:22 pm | Permalink

    It would be fun if I have an idea of what the quilt looks like ahead of time. Nothing makes me more upset to than to do a mystery quilt, put in all that time and find out I think it is ugly. So I am on the fence. A scrappy fence…

  • Posted July 31, 2014 at 1:33 pm | Permalink

    I would love to join. My leg should be out of the cast by then.

  • Lily
    Posted July 31, 2014 at 1:38 pm | Permalink

    Love BOMs. Showing the finished quilt (two different colorways? is that asking too much?) helps keep me going. 6 months is a good length. Also like to be able to download the instructions in pdf. Prefer email reminders. Don’t really like Facebook and haven’t learned Instagram yet. Monthly sharing of photos of everyone’s blocks is fun and inspiring.

  • Debbie Rogowski
    Posted July 31, 2014 at 1:43 pm | Permalink

    I’ve done a few BOMs but now I’ve decided that what I would much prefer in one is that it be maybe 2-3 fabrics or colors. Also one that is more themed maybe is the word, not sampler blocks. The sampler blocks did help me when I was learning though and had me try processes that I’d never done before so those are good too , just not what I’m wanting to do at this time. When I make one that has some blocks that are 2 color and then blocks that are 5 and six color for me they just don’t go together. The last one I was in I thought was going to be themed like a 4 season pattern but then it turned weird lol.

  • Posted July 31, 2014 at 1:43 pm | Permalink

    I like short BOMs – if they are too long, the project gets lost!! I can’t do hand work because of arthritis so everything has to be on a machine for me. I love modern quilts and I’m really only piecing that kind of quilt right now – I have about 50 of the more traditional quilts waiting for me to quilt them, so I don’t need any more of that style right now!!!

  • Bonnie McKee
    Posted July 31, 2014 at 2:11 pm | Permalink

    I love BOMs! They motivate me and keep me on task. I enjoy all styles of stitching, but have mostly done machine piecing and embroidery for the BOMs I have belonged to in the past.
    I think I would prefer to receive updates/instructions via email as I check my inbox often. If I have to remember to check a blog/web sight I may forget.
    Thank you for the effort you are putting in to this! I’m looking forward to participating!

  • Cindy Dahlgren
    Posted July 31, 2014 at 2:35 pm | Permalink

    I would join, especially if it were for 6 months or less. I lose interest and motivation if they’re too long. I like piecing, especially stars, tutorials on new or harder blocks, paper piecing, some applique. I like applique, but my machine applique isn’t the best and I don’t have time for hand applique. A great tutorial on machine applique would be fun. I prefer to get blog posts to my email. Sometimes life gets busy and you forget.

  • Posted July 31, 2014 at 3:22 pm | Permalink

    I have enjoyed doing BOMs through the years. It would be nice to have a design to look forward to – other than a sampler type BOM. I also think that shorter time would be my preference and I would like to see blocks come out every 2 weeks instead of once a month. The holidays tend to be hectic, but would love to have it start at the beginning of the year when we are all looking for some fun sewing. I like to have the BOMs on a blog AND to receive a reminder in an e-mail. I can’t wait to see what you come up with for your QAL.

  • Sherry Croonen
    Posted July 31, 2014 at 3:34 pm | Permalink

    Would love a BOM, 6months is perfect. A variety of blocks are nice. Yes I wold join if it is be email. I don,t do FB ot any other social media

  • Nancy Neal
    Posted July 31, 2014 at 5:10 pm | Permalink

    I love BOM’s. I like when people have clear instructions. I am new at quilting and some don’t have clear instructions. I also would like 6 months BOM. I would like email instructions because I don’t do facebook. I see I’m not the only one who doesn’t do facebook.Yea for us!!!

  • Posted July 31, 2014 at 5:20 pm | Permalink

    Love BOMs I`d love to be in if you do one!Get a reminder via email once a month would be great and PDF to print it and I prefer piecing blocks or paper piecing because I have to improve my applique.

    How many blocks will have the quilt ? I hope isn´t be a square quilt and how many blocks in a month or week?

  • Debbie Sheldon
    Posted July 31, 2014 at 5:24 pm | Permalink

    I love BOM and I am looking forward to seeing what you are planning. Piecing and appliqué are both great. My only concern is Facebook and Instagam–I do not do either of them.

  • Sarah
    Posted July 31, 2014 at 5:32 pm | Permalink

    BOM’s are so much fun. I agree with the other ladies, a six month BOM is a good length. Usually I can manage to keep up with something this long whereas by the time twelve months is up I’ve found other quilts to start or I’ve become a bit bored with the project. I enjoy the combination of piecing and applique. I don’t have any social media other than blogs. I also like PDF printouts and blog posts. I also want to say how much I enjoy your free ezine. It’s beautiful and inspirational and I always look forward with eagerness for it’s arrival. Thankyou for the joy and pleasure you bring to so many people.

  • Rosemary
    Posted July 31, 2014 at 5:36 pm | Permalink

    I’ve done one block of the month (Craftsy) with more quilting ones “in the works” These are usually 10 blocks with the last two instructions on how to combine. There are so many quilting ones, it’s difficult to decide. I would prefer an embroidery themed BOM, because there are not many out there and I would be willing to pay a few dollars a month for great designs since I’m “graphically challenged.” You could use seasonal holidays as a theme. I do FB, but only for personal/friends & family and I don’t do Instagram at all, so you newsletter is probably the best venue for communication for me. Thanks for asking for imput. I’ll be waiting to see what you decide.

  • Posted July 31, 2014 at 5:37 pm | Permalink

    I think a Fall BOM would be awesome! I LOVE everything that you do, your designs are so neat. Fall is my favorite time of the year to do quilts and crafts. 6 months would be a good timeframe, because it would not be too long to wait for the quilt to be finished.
    Thanks for everything in advance!
    Nettie

  • Susan V
    Posted July 31, 2014 at 6:32 pm | Permalink

    I would join. I too am a great starter. Bom’s keep my interest if the techniques are varied. I like the longer BOMs because I like bed size quilts. I rarely make wallhangings.
    Susan in CT

    • Anonymous
      Posted July 31, 2014 at 6:57 pm | Permalink

      I would enjoy doing a block of the month. Shorter time frame is better, I think it is hard to stay interested if it is dragged out. Any style would be fun.
      Joan Huffman

      Sent from my iPhone

    • Joan Huffman
      Posted July 31, 2014 at 7:00 pm | Permalink

      See above. Never posted like this before.

  • Margaret Schindler
    Posted July 31, 2014 at 8:07 pm | Permalink

    I would love to join. I love machine needle turn applique or just applique with a pieced quilt. Thanks for sharing this

  • Posted August 1, 2014 at 7:36 am | Permalink

    I enjoy a good bom and haven’t done one in a while. I like piecing and machine applique and paper piecing so I can get a chance to practice various skills. I enjoy seeing others’ color schemes and seeing all the blocks but I’m afraid I’m technologically challenged so haven’t done instagram or any of those other picture posting sites. I’ll participate! Six months sounds like a good time frame.

  • Posted August 1, 2014 at 4:21 pm | Permalink

    Sounds like a great idea! A six month BOM usually works best. I’ve found that interest starts to wane after six months. You could do two blocks a month if your overall design needs twelve blocks. Two blocks a month are doable. You could give them both at the same time or bi-weekly with months that have a fifth week free for catching up as needed.

    Tutorials, tips, tricks, etc. are great for those just learning. Since some folks might be new to quilting, you could start with easier blocks and work up to more challenging ones. By the end of the BOM the newbies will feel very accomplished:-). The more seasoned quilters usually know how to make an easy block more interesting so they should still be happy because they’ve gotten to use their creativity a little.

    A mixture of piecing, applique, and embroidery tends to make for a more interesting project. Plus, it allows those who might not normally do one of these techniques, or who might not even know how, the opportunity to give it a try on a smaller scale. Options where blocks are concerned are always welcomed. If a pieced block can stand alone without the applique or embroidery then the quilter can choose to call it quits after the block has been pieced. Since newbies will have the patterns, they can always come back and remake the block adding the element that they couldn’t do before.

    Definitely have a PDF version of the patterns to make saving them for future reference easier. Definitely send out a reminder that the new block(s) is ready. If I have to remember to go to a blog or to Craftsy on a certain day, or by a certain time, to get the next round of a project, I tend to forget and eventually find that I’m three months behind when I do finally remember. While I have a page, I don’t really care for Facebook personally. If I had to go there for the patterns or group information I’d more than likely pass on the project as a whole and not join in at all.

    Since I love all you do I look forward to seeing what you come up with for the BOM!

  • Jess
    Posted August 1, 2014 at 9:08 pm | Permalink

    I prefer either email reminder to pick up the block or a special facebook group. Facebook works well if you allow the users to upload photos of the blocks so everyone can see the different color schemes etc. Love sharing the information with my friends who quilt and also would prefer one type of block per month. Now if I have to make more than one of that block that is a different thing. I prefer a bit of everything, applique, embroidery, the works. Adds variety.

  • Judy
    Posted August 2, 2014 at 12:43 am | Permalink

    I have participated in three BOM’s and really enjoyed them. All three times I followed through blog posts and that is the way I prefer to follow as I am not on facebook or any other social media. Also the blog posts were great because they allowed for pictures plus explanations of how to make the block. Fall is a good time as summer is usually too busy for most people. The only thing that I found with a fall one was that around Christmas time everyone got behind and so you might want to allow a little extra time around the holidays for people to sew their blocks. I liked getting the blocks every two weeks as it gave me plenty of time to finish a block before the next one was given to us. I would definitely join a BOM club of yours and whatever you decide as far as how it will work will really be fine with me. You are the one doing all the work so I can adapt to whatever works for you.

Post a Comment

Your email is kept private.